The library’s adoption event will be held April 21^st through the 24^th for you to browse and adopt items we are withdrawing from the library’s collection. These include bound volumes from our Journal Collection, books from the General Collection, and Reference Books.

We also have office supplies available that are looking for a new home that may be of use in your lab or office.  These include pens, pencils, sticky notes, bulletin board paper, and more. 

Our adoption event is in Building 549, hours are: 

• April 21^st from 9 to 3
• April 22^nd from 9 to 3
• April 23^rd from 9 to 3
• April 24^th from 9 to 1

All items are available on a first come, first served basis.  Please email the Scientific Library at NCIFredLibrary@mail.nih.gov if you have questions.

Happy National Library Week!  National Library Week is a reminder for us to celebrate the value of information and the role libraries play in building knowledge within their communities. 

The Scientific Library is continuously evolving to ensure we meet the information needs of our community.  Today we are launching a new website to ensure our subscriptions and services are transparent and easy to use. 

New features of the Scientific Library site include:   

• A streamlined site that is easy to navigate 24/7.  There are no longer forms or barriers to access information or make a request – please send us an email for questions or to submit information requests. 
• The Scientific Library lists 100+ databases available to the NCI-F community which are now searchable by subject for easier findability.  We've incorporated related training, tutorials and articles within the database descriptions.
• In response to customer requests, the speaker series bibliographies will be searchable by name and date. 
• We are also launching Research Guides; the guides are organized collections of information and resources related to a certain subjects and topic areas.    

We look forward to sharing updates on new Research Guides as we add them.  If there are subject areas of interest to you let us know, we are glad to create new guides specific to your interests.

Our goal is to ensure the library’s website is easy to navigate, our resources are easy to find 24/7, and library services are available when you need them.

Please reach out to us at NCIFredLibrary@mail.nih.govwith your information needs and look for future communications on our services

We look forward to hearing from with you!

Pricing Intelligence Suite is the Scientific Library’s Resource of the Month for April.  The General Services Administration's (GSA) Pricing Intelligence Suite is a comprehensive set of tools designed to assist federal acquisition professionals in making informed pricing decisions. This suite enables users to explore and compare contract and task order pricing information, facilitating better decision-making during the procurement process.

• Contract-Awarded Labor Category (CALC) Tools: These tools allow federal contracting officers and others to find awarded prices for labor contracts, aiding in negotiations and ensuring fair pricing. 

• Hourly Labor Ceiling Rates Analysis: This feature provides insights into average labor rates and displays the price point that includes 34% of prices higher than the mean in a normal distribution, helping users understand labor rate distributions.

• Independent Government Cost Estimate (IGCE) Development: The suite offers tools that allow users to develop single-year or multi-year cost estimates based on their acquisition plans, supporting accurate budgeting and financial planning. 

Please note that Pricing Intelligence Suite is only accessible to government employees or contractors with a .gov or .mil e-mail address.

Please contact the Scientific Library if you would like to learn more about the many subscriptions and databases the Scientific Library has available to you. 

Links to external library resources are provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Scientific Library on of any of the content provided or opinions expressed by individuals or the vendor itself.  The Scientific Library bears no responsibility for the viewpoint of the external site or for subsequent links provided by the vendor. Please contact the external site for answers to questions regarding its content.

Each month the Scientific Library highlights one of the many resources available to you. ClinRegsis the Scientific Library’s Resource of the Month for March.

Launched by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) in September 2014, the ClinRegs website is a free, online database with country-specific clinical research regulatory information for 23 countries. Updated at least once a year, each country profile’s 36 topic areas cover regulatory and ethics approval, clinical trial lifecycle, sponsor responsibilities, informed consent, investigational products, and specimens. In the past year alone, nearly 68,000 users in 166 countries have visited ClinRegs.

By serving as a one-stop shop for clinical research requirements, ClinRegs can help save you time and effort. The site offers benefits such as: 

• Plain language narrative descriptions of country-specific clinical research requirements 
• Links to official regulatory and guidance documents 
• English translations (where available) 
• Option to compare up to four countries side-by-side
• On-page notifications about recent changes to country requirements
• Filtering options on country pages and search results page

To learn more about what ClinRegs has to offer and how it can help you, watch Utilizing NIAID’s ClinRegs Website to Support International Clinical Research Regulatory Compliance, a webinar recorded on May 23, 2024. 

To receive the latest ClinRegs information, subscribe to country- or topic-specific email updates through GovDelivery. If you have any questions, email the ClinRegs team at NIAIDClinRegsSupport@mail.nih.gov. 

Please contact the Scientific Library if you would like to learn more about the many subscriptions and databases the Scientifc Library has available to you. 

Links to external library resources are provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Scientific Library on of any of the content provided or opinions expressed by individuals or the vendor itself.  The Scientific Library bears no responsibility for the viewpoint of the external site or for subsequent links provided by the vendor. Please contact the external site for answers to questions regarding its content.

New Scientific Library Resource: Drug Hunter

The Scientific Library now has access to Drug Hunter.

Drug Hunter keeps you current by connecting the dots, distilling industry lessons from thousands of sources into a one-of-a-kind searchable platform for drug discovery knowledge you can apply to make better decisions and solve critical discovery challenges.

Our license allows us to perform searches for you and conduct research on your behalf.

Please contact the Scientific Library if you would like to learn more about Drug Hunter or if you have questions about any of the many resources that the library has available to you.