Skip to Main Content
Author Evaluation, Impact Factors and Publishing Tools
- The h-index is an index that attempts to measure both the productivity and citation impact of the published body of work of a scientist or scholar. The index is based on the set of the scientist's most cited papers and the number of citations that they have received in other publications. The index can also be applied to the productivity and impact of a scholarly journal as well as a group of scientists, such as a department or university or country. The index was suggested in 2005 by Jorge E. Hirsch. a physicist at UCSD, as a tool for determining theoretical physicists' relative quality and is sometimes called the Hirsch index or Hirsch number.
- The h-index can be manually determined using databases such as Scopus, Web of Science, and Google Scholar. Each database may produce a different h for the same author, because of different coverage.
- Scopus: use Author Search. In the list of authors that comes up in the search results, click on Details. The Details page provides both the times cited and the h-index, with links to graphs and tables.
- Web of Science: Register for ResearcherID to get your bibliometric data and to learn how to find h-index information in WOS. ResearcherID will automatically update times cited counts and citation metrics as data is updated in Web of Science.
- Google Scholar: Use the Author name field in the Advanced Search form. Google Scholar provides only citation counts for individual articles, not an author's entire career.
- Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) - A free resource tool for finding the perfect journal in which to publish your research, from The Biosemantics Group. Copy and paste your manuscript's abstract or type in the key concepts of your paper. You will get a list of journals, sorted by confidence score, once you click the Find Journals button. Learn more about JANE.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - via ISI's Web of Science interface provides "Impact Factors" & "Journal Rankings," to help evaluate scholarly journals, using citation data from over 8,400 journals. A higher impact factor generally indicates that this journal's articles have been cited more. (NIH/NCI-F)
- NCI at Frederick Scientific Publications - The NCI at Frederick Scientific Publications database is a collection of citations for publications authored by employees of the National Cancer Institute at Frederick from 1997 through the present. If you have any questions about the content of this resource, please contact the Library.
NCI at Frederick Library Homepage