This guide contains multiple resources to be used for reference, we have separated them into subject areas for easy findability.  Please reach out to us at: NCIFredLibrary@mail.nih.gov if you have questions or need help finding information.

The following sites have come to our attention through various sources; their inclusion in this section does not indicate endorsement by Scientific Library staff.

• AccessMedicine - Updated daily by world-renowned physicians and expanded continuously, AccessMedicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review. (NIH/NCI-F)
• Britannica Online - Limited free access.
• Glossary of Genetic Terms - NHGRI - From the National Human Genome Research Institute, a free searchable glossary of genetic terms with an audio glossary helpful for pronunciation of terms.
• InfoPlease - free access to almanacs, facts and statistics on various topics.
• Peer Review Policies & Procedures - from NIH; see also Nature's Peer Review Debate articles.
• Scientific, Medical, General Proofreading, and Editing - free newsletter from San Francisco Edit contains tips and techniques for improving medical and scientific writing. Features list of links to Tips.
• Webopedia: Computer Definitions on the Web - Free online dictionary and search engine dedicated to computer definitions and internet technology.
• YourDictionary.com - Global portal for language, and language-related services on the Web, with over 1500 dictionaries representing more than 230 languages.

The following sites have come to our attention through various sources; their inclusion in this section does not indicate endorsement by Scientific Library staff.

Federal Government

• Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System - over 50 million historic electronic holdings of the U.S. National Archives & Records Administration (NARA).
• CDC Wonder - CDC site designed to make locating information at CDC easier. Once you reach the site, register for a free account number and password. CDC's numeric databases include statistics on mortality, AIDS, and cancer. Text databases include CDC Prevention Guidelines, and issues of Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report dating back to 1982.
• Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Includes CDC epidemiology and statistical information, Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report and Emerging Infectious Diseases.
• Congress.gov - primary gateway to legislative information. Locate bills proposed for adoption into law; search by keyword or bill number.
• Congressional Record: Free & Commercial Resources - Compiled by the Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C.
• Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
• Environmental Protection Agency Where You Live - Click on your state or EPA Region on the map or from a list to find information about children's health protection where you live.
• Food & Drug Administration (FDA) - FDA News; Animal Drugs; Human Drugs; Biologics (blood products, vaccines, biotechnology derived products, etc.); Cosmetics; Food; Toxicology; Medical Devices; Imports.
• Government Publishing Office (GPO)  - free access to GPO GovInfo portal for searching government publications: Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; Congressional Bills; Congressional Directory; Government Manual; Economic Indicators; GAO Reports; History of Bills; Public Laws; U.S. Code; Unified Agenda; and other government documents on the same day of publication.
• GreyNet International - GreyNet is dedication to research, publication, open access, and education in the field of grey literature.
• Homeland Security Web Portal - links to resources regarding threats and protection, emergencies and disasters and more.
• National Institutes of Health
• NIH RePORTER- NIH has replaced the CRISP database with the Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT) Expenditures and Results (RePORTER). RePORTER is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of both intramural and extramural NIH-funded research projects from the past 25 years, and access publications (since 1985) and patents resulting from NIH funding.
• OSTI.gov - Connect to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
• Pricing Intelligence Suite - Your one-stop location for contract and task order pricing information. Make better decisions for your agency by using these tools to explore and compare your data.
• Public Health Infrastructure Resource Center (PHIRC) - from the Public Health Foundation (PHF), a searchable gateway to information about the infrastructure of the public health systems.
• Rural Health Information Hub - federally-funded, established as a free rural health and human services information portal to help rural communities access programs, funding and research.
• Science.gov - a gateway to reliable information from an alliance of 14 scientific and technical information organizations from 10 major science agencies.
• U.S. Census Bureau - access to core data sets with the ability to create maps for many key demographics.
• USA.gov - a primary portal to government information on the Web, with topics including business and economy, product recalls, passport information, legislation and regulations, grants, benefits and science and technology.

State Government

• Maryland Agency Regulations (COMAR)
• Maryland Appellate Court Opinions
• Maryland State Law Library - resource for Maryland Law with links to federal legal sites and documents.
• People's Law Library - Maryland's Peoples Law Library (PLL) is a legal information and self-help website maintained by the Maryland State Law Library, providing information on Maryland and Federal law affecting low- and moderate-income Marylanders and their families.
• SAILOR - Maryland's Public Information Network; includes links to Maryland Codes/Statutes & Regulations as well as links to municipal codes and charters.
• State and County Quick Facts - source of demographic data from summary profiles showing frequently requested data from various Census Bureau programs. Profiles available at the national, state, and county level with links to more detailed census resources

The following sites have come to our attention through various sources; their inclusion in this section does not indicate endorsement by Scientific Library staff.

Grants

• Foundation Center 990 Finder - Locate 990 forms (tax form that lists grants) for private foundations, public charities and other nonprofits. 
• Foundation Stats - View top grantmaking foundations by total giving, by assets, or by gifts received, filtered by state and organization type.
• Grant Forward - Search engine that infers and aggregates research interests from several sources such as a researcher's CV, or publication history and matches the profile with relevant funding opportunities. Users must first create an account at: https://www.grantforward.com/signup, using an email address that ends in "nih.gov". 
• Grants.gov - Grant opportunities from all Federal grant-making agencies with grant-related information. Includes a section with resources for applicants, such as training resources, tools for checking eligibility, FAQs, and more.
• National Science Foundation Grants - NSF Grants database allows free searching in areas of science and engineering. Searchable by keyword, date, program status, funding type, and research area.
• NIH Grants & Funding Opportunities - Information about NIH grant and fellowship programs and contracting opportunities for those preparing proposals.

Patents

• Databases and Tutorials for Patent Searching – This guide from University of Texas Libraries provides an overview of patent databases from the USPTO, Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) links, other important websites for accessing patents, and recommended tutorials and aids for patent searching and understanding patent documents.

• Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present) via Web of Science (WOS) - Use the pulldown menu next to Web of Science Core Collection to select the database. Combines value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities in the Derwent World Patent Index (1963-present) with patent citations indexed from the Derwent Patents Citation Index (1973-present).  View lists of patents that cite the target patent, sort by top cited patents, and access value-added indexing like Derwent Class Codes and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention. Use the Compound Search option for chemical structure searching. (NIH/NCI-F Subscription)

• Books related to patents from the Books search.

• EMBL-EBI Patent Data Resources – Find free resources for searching and downloading patent chemical compound and patent sequence data from the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI).
• Espacenet Patent Search - Free access to the database of over 120 million patents.
• FAQ Pertaining to Patent and Other Intellectual Property Information at NCBI – Learn how to use free tools and databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) to search for patents through nucleotide or protein sequence searches and chemical structure searches.
• FreePatentsOnline- Search US patents & patent applications, EP documents, Abstracts of Japan, WIPO (PCT) documents, and German patents.
• Google Patents - Google Patents includes millions of patent publications from over 100 patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books.
• Patent Register Portal – This free portal from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) allows users to locate online patent registers (to browse legal status-related information and documents for patent publications) for over 200 national and regional patent offices. 
• Patent Searching, Advanced – This guide from Clemson Libraries provides information and resources on different types of patent searches, USPTO databases, tips for searching by patent assignee, finding patent statistics, searching non-US patents, and searching chemical/pharmaceutical patents.
• Reaxys - (Includes patents from 1803-). Patent information indexed in Reaxys includes substance and reaction data, patent citation information, and most organic chemistry, as well as Markush substance display, all patent family members, and classification codes for English language patents from World, US, and European patent offices and Asian patent offices (China, Taiwan, South Korea, Japan).  Learn more about patent coverage in Reaxys through the Reaxys Support Center. If you need any assistance using this database, please feel free to call Alan Doss at 301-846-6249 or via email. (NIH/NCI-F Subscription)
• SCOPUS - An abstract and indexing database from Elsevier Science, Scopus offers access to over 39 million patents. After conducting a search in Scopus, choose the Patents tab to view patent search results. Learn more about viewing and filtering patent results through Scopus on the Scopus Blog. (NIH/NCI-F Subscription)
• SumoBrain - This free database (from the creators of FreePatentsOnline.com) allows users to search US patents & patent applications, EP documents, Abstracts of Japan, and WIPO (PCT) documents.
• The Lens - Search across patent publications from 10 patent jurisdictions and then filter the results graphically. This free database also provides a BLAST search for finding sequence patents through Lens PatSeq. Also use the PATCITE tool at Lens.org to search for patents citing specific journal articles.
• USPTO Web Patent Databases - US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) offers free access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases from 1976 to most recent weekly issue. Also search PDF image US patents since 1790.
• WIPO PatentScope - Search international patent applications filed under the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), as well as Regional and National patent collections from over 60 participating countries and regional patent offices. Free to search and includes a chemical structure search for those who create a free account and are logged into it. 

Frederick Libraries

• Frederick Community College Library  |  Catalog

• Frederick County Public Libraries  |  Catalog

• Hood College Library  

Health and Human Services Library Consortium Libraries

• ASPE Library (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation) 
• Centers for Disease Control Library (CDC)
• National Institutes of Environmental Health Library (NIEHS) |  Catalog
• National Institutes of Health Library  | NIH Library Catalog
• National Institute of Standards & Technology Library (NIST)  | Catalog
• National Library of Medicine (NLM)  |  Catalog
• NCTR Research Library, National Center for Toxicological Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
• Office of General Counsel Law Library, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)  |  Catalog
• Office of Minority Health Resource Center  |  Catalog

Other Federal Libraries

• Library of Congress (LC)  |  Catalog
• National Agricultural Library (NAL)  |  Catalog
• Patent and Trademark Resource Center Locations by State
• U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Public Search Facility (USPTO)

Maryland Libraries

• Johns Hopkins University Libraries  - includes Eisenhower Library, the Friedheim Library at Peabody Conservatory, the SAIS Library (School of Advanced International Studies in Washington, D.C.),  the Applied Physics Laboratory Library, and the Welch Medical Library.

• SAILOR  - is Maryland's Online Public Information Network, providing Maryland residents with access to Internet resources, including state and local government files.

• University of Maryland at Baltimore, Health Sciences and Human Services Library  |  Catalog

• University of Maryland, College Park Libraries   |  Catalog

Other Libraries

• LibDex - Worldwide directory of library home pages and online catalogs.

• New York Public Library  | Catalog

• Network of the National Library of Medicine - Member Directory - Nation-wide directory of medical libraries and information centers.

• WorldCat.org  - Allows free searching of the collections of libraries around the world.