What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is a fast way to search Scientific Library resources and collections - a single search box for journal articles, books, media and more. A large central index is compiled from thousands of publishers and content providers. 

What does OneSearch include?

• All the materials from the Scientific Library's catalog, such as books, videos, sound recordings, etc.
• A majority of Scientific Library's journal subscriptions.
• PubMed and content from many other biomedical research databases and open-access resources.
• Full-text content of the Scientific Library's Online Book collections.
• By default, OneSearch shows results available at the Scientific Library and from some additional online collections but using "Expand My Results" will locate publications from thousands of other publishers and other resources, which the library can then easily obtain through interlibrary loan.

What is not in OneSearch?

Although it does contain information available in many of the Scientific Library's Databases, there is some information that is not included in OneSearch. Specialized or comprehensive research should be done in the Scientific Library's subject-specific Databases. For information about which databases are best for your subject area, consult our website lists, or contact us.

How do I use OneSearch?

Use the single search box to start and then use the Refine your Search options on the left, such as resource type, creation date, or subject. For a more specific search, by author or journal title, for example, use the Advanced Search option. See the Help link for more search tips that will make your search more precise.

Who can use OneSearch?

Everyone is able to access and search the OneSearch interface; however, access to full text, subscribed resources does require you to be on the campus network or use VPN

What browsers and devices are supported?

OneSearch supports the following browsers and devices:

• Edge – User interface is tested and certified with the most recent version..
• Firefox – User interface is tested and certified with the most recent stable version of Firefox.
• Safari – User interface is tested and certified with the most recent stable version of Safari on Mac.
• Chrome – User interface is tested and certified with the most recent stable version of Google Chrome.

No app download is required because OneSearch automatically responds to the screen size of the device you are using.

Can I use OneSearch on my mobile device?

Yes, from the library's web site, you can enter a term in the search box and instantly retrieve relevant results.